Ch…ch…changes

A few months ago I set a goal for myself to either be a stay-at-home mom or have a new job by September 1st.

Mission accomplished.

I will be starting a new job/career on August 18. Praise the Lord.

My current job was starting to make me crazy. I’ve worked for this company in the past, so five (almost 6) years ago when I needed a stable job, I jumped at the opportunity come back here. I’d be getting to do something I was interested in (marketing) and I’d get to work in a strong department (Admin).

Things have changed a lot in the past five years.

Struggles with employee morale, engagement, etc. have started to plague the company on a daily basis without even so much as an acknowledgement by management.

It’s sad knowing that many of the problems could be at least somewhat fixed with something as simple as management training…and really training in general. I’m a firm believer in equipping people to do their jobs and holding them accountable when they don’t. Unfortunately, it has become abundantly clear over the last few years, that the company culture isn’t something that I can be a part of anymore. There is no sense of accountability by management which has trickled down to the employees. It is disappointing.

I probably stayed three years too long partly out of fear which is never a good thing. There was always this hope that things would change. I spoke up when I probably should have just moved on, but I thought that if I brought solutions, someone would listen. I was idealistic, but I refuse to get jaded.

I’m mad at myself for essentially wasting the last few years of my life, and now I’ll be paying what Dave Ramsey like’s to call a “Stupid Tax” for the time I’ve wasted not know what I want to do for a career.

I’m hopeful about my new job. It’s going to a be a big step backwards financially, but in the end, I think it will be a good career path for me. I’m so blessed to have support from the hubs, and I am thankful that I know everyone on the team that I will be working with. They are all forward thinkers who believe in excellence for their clients.

I can’t wait to start this next chapter.

Wish I would have let go of the old job sooner, but I’m so glad I’m doing it now.

2 thoughts on “Ch…ch…changes

  1. Congrats on the new job! I find it hard to think about career path changes because I would have NO IDEA what I would want to do. Good luck!!

Leave a Reply

