Busy-ness, judgy-judgy, nonsense

The past couple of weeks have been busy at work which is normal for this time of year, but on top of that we’ve been shorthanded. One of my co-workers had to take a leave of absence to be with her dying father. He passed away on Monday, which was only 3 weeks after they found out he had lung cancer that had spread to his brain. I am so thankful that she was able to spend his last days caring for him. What a blessing for her and for him.

Death makes you remember how trivial much of what we deal with on a daily basis really is.

On a not entirely unrelated note, I’ve been struggling lately with how unkind we (as in people in general) can be to each other. We judge each other for all kinds of stuff.

For example, in one of the mom groups I’m in on Facebook, a mom posted an innocent question this week about “Who vaccinates, etc.” She was clearly looking for support and advice from other moms, and what she got instead were mainly articles posted from the far ends of the spectrum (both pro & anti-vax). What I really think (and I could be wrong) she was wanting was more of a “Hey, this is a decision you’ll have to make for yourself, but here is what my family has decided to do” kind of answer from people. No one was particularly unkind or anything, but it got me thinking about recent social media discourse I’ve seen…

When did everyone become so judgy? I mean, people have probably been judgy since the dawn of time, but now it’s out there for everyone to see — in writing.

Vaccines, particularly, seem to be one of those issues that feels so black & white on the interwebs, when the truth is that there is a whole lotta gray going on if you really start researching.

All I’m saying is that I hope people will be kind to one another and realize were all working our way through this life, making decisions as best as we can with what information we have. Instead of immediately throwing in our opinions to the extreme ends, maybe we could say, “Hey, here is some middle ground — I’m a mom. You’re a mom. We are both making tough decisions. Here’s what I’m doing. What are you doing? Cool. Keep up the good work, and if you have questions about the choices I’m making, let me know. If not, know that I support you in the choices you are making.” The end.

"Mothers waiting their turn to have their children vaccinated, City Hall, Brisbane, 1947" by State Library Queensland

“Mothers waiting their turn to have their children vaccinated, City Hall, Brisbane, 1947” by State Library Queensland

Leave a Reply

